Two Years or So Later

It’s a good thing I don’t write for a living.  I would starve.  Martha’s Dandee Cream  in Lake George, New York was the seventh stop on our TABICS2015 tour.  We went there in late July of 2016.  Here I am at the end of August 2018, writing the blog post.  We’ll see how good my memory is.

sign3

Part of the problem with my tardiness was that I couldn’t come up with a catchy title for the post.  The title sets the tone for my writing.  I remember considering It Was Still Hot In New York, because we left super-hot weather behind in Delaware and I hoped upstate New York would be cooler.  Nope.  It was in the 90s there, too, and you will see from some of the rapidly melting ice cream pictures.

To be fair, it’s been a busy two years what with traveling to Alaska in July 2017 and commuting between Delaware, Maryland, and South Carolina to attend the births of two more grandchildren in late 2016 and early 2017.  I had some surgery along the way, too.  Still, it was quite the exercise in procrastination.

Martha’s (not my sister, the ice cream place) sells amazing soft serve ice cream in a great selection of flavors that change by the day.

I like a good soft serve, and theirs was delicious.  Steve got a large soft serve, which promptly started to melt in the 90 degree heat.

Big cone! (2)

It was a challenge for him to eat it before it landed on the ground, but he was up to the task.  Good man.

Here are some other scenic shots of Martha’s:

 

Those red and white things are fountains.  The pictures are all of Steve because I’m terrible at selfies.

One good thing about procrastinating with this post is that I found Martha’s mentioned in a book series I’ve been reading, the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward.  The books are pretty angsty, but I like them because the good guys always win and almost everyone lives happily ever after.  Positive energy, that’s the ticket!  The books are set in Caldwell, New York (now Lake George).  They mention Martha’s and the Six Flags across the street.  Pretty cool.

We stayed at the Queensbury Hotel in Glens Falls, just down the road from Martha’s.  It’s very classy but not expensive, or we wouldn’t have stayed there.  I remember laying in bed and hearing 1930s music wafting up from downstairs late at night.  It was probably from the restaurant, but the hotel does have a reputation for being haunted, so who knows?  We ate at Fenimore’s Pub in the hotel and stayed late for the open mike night.  A lot of musicians who obviously knew each other showed up, and we enjoyed a very entertaining evening. Sadly, the bar did not have any mint for a mojito, so I had to settle for a Cosmopolitan.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We spent a day in the town of Lake George, which is coincidentally right on Lake George.  We visited Fort William Henry, where Steve made friends with one of the costumed guides.  Lunch was at an outdoor restaurant, where we watched parasailers for entertainment.  I really enjoy sightseeing cruises, and we took one with the Lake George Steamboat Company

 

We also stopped by Lake George Station, a historic train station built by the Delaware and Hudson Railway.  It had a bunch of small shops, and I’m sure I stimulated the economy while we were there.

station tower2

The sky was beautiful.  The lake was beautiful.  We had a lovely day.  It was hot.

Of course, we had to stop at Martha’s one last time before we left for home.  I opted for a hot fudge sundae.  This is how they should always look:

Sundae

Notice the extra hot fudge layer.  Delicious!  Hope is doesn’t take me two years to get around to writing the next scoop!

Lori

Leave a comment